<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Carphone Warehouse is now sending spam to ask for blog spam.</title>
	<atom:link href="http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/2009/07/13/carphone-warehouse-is-now-sending-spam-to-ask-for-blog-spam/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/2009/07/13/carphone-warehouse-is-now-sending-spam-to-ask-for-blog-spam/</link>
	<description>arrogant pontification</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Thu, 19 Jan 2012 14:03:23 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.1.4</generator>
	<item>
		<title>By: Brian Davies</title>
		<link>http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/2009/07/13/carphone-warehouse-is-now-sending-spam-to-ask-for-blog-spam/comment-page-1/#comment-13225</link>
		<dc:creator>Brian Davies</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 13 Nov 2010 12:17:38 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/?p=214#comment-13225</guid>
		<description>Hi,

Just received simmilar email to above and have had on before which I just binned. Did an ip search and came up with this site. Email read: -

Hi I`m Maria Oliver from HomeAway Holiday-Rentals. Our various sites showcase over 210,000 farmhouses, cottages, river boats, and castles to rent. . We are looking for partner sites in a wide range of locations covering activities, local information, services and anything else that may be of interest to our visitors.

We would like to set up a relationship with woottonweb.co.uk, either by exchanging links with you (we can link to you from relevant content pages on bestactivityweekends.com which we will explain when you reply) or by offering you some unique, free of charge, professionally written content on a subject of your choosing. These are both genuine offers and could help both of us so if you are interested, please read on . . . .

We are working with a specialist content firm here in the UK. They have a large team of high quality researchers and editors who can write on any subject. We are happy to commission them (at our expense!) to write some content for you to publish on woottonweb.co.uk. You have complete control over the subject and there are absolutely no costs for you.

All we would ask is that you allow us to include one simple text link back to us in the content which will hopefully be found by the search engines in the longer term - which is how we would benefit.

Please let me know what you think.

Thanks and kind regards - Maria Oliver
Search Strategist, www&lt;nobr&gt;.bestactivityweekends.com
 

REMOVAL
Removal is probably the wrong word - you are not on any kind of mailing list because we identify and approach sites individually. However, I really do not want to upset anyone by making contact and if I have done so, I`m really sorry. I am always trying to improve our approach. Given that we have other sites, if you could reply with any of the following in the subject line, I will ensure that I learn from it!

REMOVE (no further contact regardless as to reason)
NO INTEREST (no interest in bestactivityweekends.com but you do sometimes link)
NO LINKS (you never link with other sites)

Thanks!

Looking at the email detail I think that the message has been routed through Car Phone Warehouse but originated from Open Hosting UK

Regards...&lt;/nobr&gt;</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Hi,</p>
<p>Just received simmilar email to above and have had on before which I just binned. Did an ip search and came up with this site. Email read: -</p>
<p>Hi I`m Maria Oliver from HomeAway Holiday-Rentals. Our various sites showcase over 210,000 farmhouses, cottages, river boats, and castles to rent. . We are looking for partner sites in a wide range of locations covering activities, local information, services and anything else that may be of interest to our visitors.</p>
<p>We would like to set up a relationship with woottonweb.co.uk, either by exchanging links with you (we can link to you from relevant content pages on bestactivityweekends.com which we will explain when you reply) or by offering you some unique, free of charge, professionally written content on a subject of your choosing. These are both genuine offers and could help both of us so if you are interested, please read on . . . .</p>
<p>We are working with a specialist content firm here in the UK. They have a large team of high quality researchers and editors who can write on any subject. We are happy to commission them (at our expense!) to write some content for you to publish on woottonweb.co.uk. You have complete control over the subject and there are absolutely no costs for you.</p>
<p>All we would ask is that you allow us to include one simple text link back to us in the content which will hopefully be found by the search engines in the longer term &#8211; which is how we would benefit.</p>
<p>Please let me know what you think.</p>
<p>Thanks and kind regards &#8211; Maria Oliver<br />
Search Strategist, www<nobr>.bestactivityweekends.com</p>
<p>REMOVAL<br />
Removal is probably the wrong word &#8211; you are not on any kind of mailing list because we identify and approach sites individually. However, I really do not want to upset anyone by making contact and if I have done so, I`m really sorry. I am always trying to improve our approach. Given that we have other sites, if you could reply with any of the following in the subject line, I will ensure that I learn from it!</p>
<p>REMOVE (no further contact regardless as to reason)<br />
NO INTEREST (no interest in bestactivityweekends.com but you do sometimes link)<br />
NO LINKS (you never link with other sites)</p>
<p>Thanks!</p>
<p>Looking at the email detail I think that the message has been routed through Car Phone Warehouse but originated from Open Hosting UK</p>
<p>Regards&#8230;</nobr></p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Carphone Warehouse AstroTurfing Exposed, Microsoft&#8217;s Voyage Into Twitter Continues &#124; Boycott Novell</title>
		<link>http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/2009/07/13/carphone-warehouse-is-now-sending-spam-to-ask-for-blog-spam/comment-page-1/#comment-11632</link>
		<dc:creator>Carphone Warehouse AstroTurfing Exposed, Microsoft&#8217;s Voyage Into Twitter Continues &#124; Boycott Novell</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 14 Jul 2009 14:36:01 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/?p=214#comment-11632</guid>
		<description>[...] we hope to help expose Carphone Warehouse, thanks to our reader David Gerard. Here is David&#8217;s summary of the incident:  This just arrived and appears genuine. Carphone Warehouse are (a) sending spam (b) to request [...]</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>[...] we hope to help expose Carphone Warehouse, thanks to our reader David Gerard. Here is David&#8217;s summary of the incident:  This just arrived and appears genuine. Carphone Warehouse are (a) sending spam (b) to request [...]</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: David Gerard</title>
		<link>http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/2009/07/13/carphone-warehouse-is-now-sending-spam-to-ask-for-blog-spam/comment-page-1/#comment-11631</link>
		<dc:creator>David Gerard</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 14 Jul 2009 14:30:37 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/?p=214#comment-11631</guid>
		<description>Of course. But this is spam from a real company.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Of course. But this is spam from a real company.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: PoonArmy</title>
		<link>http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/2009/07/13/carphone-warehouse-is-now-sending-spam-to-ask-for-blog-spam/comment-page-1/#comment-11629</link>
		<dc:creator>PoonArmy</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 14 Jul 2009 14:11:49 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/?p=214#comment-11629</guid>
		<description>Have you never received a link request before?</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Have you never received a link request before?</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: David Gerard</title>
		<link>http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/2009/07/13/carphone-warehouse-is-now-sending-spam-to-ask-for-blog-spam/comment-page-1/#comment-11617</link>
		<dc:creator>David Gerard</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 13 Jul 2009 15:22:41 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/?p=214#comment-11617</guid>
		<description>Ooh, quite correct. I&#039;ve instead added a link to &lt;i&gt;last&lt;/i&gt; time they were busted spamming.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Ooh, quite correct. I&#8217;ve instead added a link to <i>last</i> time they were busted spamming.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Denny</title>
		<link>http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/2009/07/13/carphone-warehouse-is-now-sending-spam-to-ask-for-blog-spam/comment-page-1/#comment-11616</link>
		<dc:creator>Denny</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 13 Jul 2009 15:14:54 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://davidgerard.co.uk/notes/?p=214#comment-11616</guid>
		<description>Did you not just give them the most significant part of what they want, i.e. a link to their site from your blog?  You might want to NOFOLLOW that.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Did you not just give them the most significant part of what they want, i.e. a link to their site from your blog?  You might want to NOFOLLOW that.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>

